My Next Escape: Lock In by John Scalzi

Lock In

Fifteen years from now, a new virus sweeps the globe. 95% of those afflicted experience nothing worse than fever and headaches. Four percent suffer acute meningitis, creating the largest medical crisis in history. And one percent find themselvs “locked in”—fully awake and aware, but unable to move or respond to stimulus.One per cent doesn’t seem like a lot. But in the United States, that’s 1.7 million people “locked in”…including the President’s wife and daughter.Spurred by grief and the sheer magnitude of the suffering, America undertakes a massive scientific initiative. Nothing can restore the ability to control their own bodies to the locked in. But then two new technologies emerge. One is a virtual-reality environment, “The Agora,” in which the locked-in can interact with other humans, both locked-in and not. The other is the discovery that a few rare individuals have brains that are receptive to being controlled by others, meaning that from time to time, those who are locked in can “ride” these people and use their bodies as if they were their own.This skill is quickly regulated, licensed, bonded, and controlled. Nothing can go wrong. Certainly nobody would be tempted to misuse it, for murder, for political power, or worse….

Expectations:

This is going to be the first novel I have ever read by John. I do not know much about any of his other works, or than that he his is Hugo Award Winner.

I had heard a lot of buzz at the time surrounding the release of Lock In, and the synopsis and reviews I had read peaked my interest – the whole idea of being “locked in” and what possibilities that kind that of technologies could have.

John is currently on a book tour and was scheduled to come to a city near me, so I had thought it was the perfect time to pick this up and then read up right before the singing. Life had other plans though. The same day John was to come, it turned out that I also had jury duty. Needless to say, I could not attend the signing so I continued with the other book I was currently reading and put Lock In aside to read later.

Now later has come, and I have read more reviews and are very excited to get started on this book.

The only issue I am partially worried about is the impact the last book I just read will have on my experience with John. I just finished reading all five of the A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R.R. Martin, and well, to be honest, it’s going to be a tough act to follow up!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

