My Next Escape: Dog On It by Spencer Quinn

Chet, the wise and lovable canine narrator of Dog on It, and Bernie, a down-on-his-luck private investigator, are quick to take a new case involving a frantic mother searching for her teenage daughter. This well-behaved and gifted student may or may not have been kidnapped, but she has definitely gotten mixed up with some very unsavory characters. With Chet’s highly trained nose leading the way, their hunt for clues takes them into the desert to biker bars and other exotic locales; until the bad guys try to turn the tables and the resourceful duo lands in the paws of peril. Spencer Quinn’s irresistible mystery kicks off a delightful new series that will have readers panting for more.

Why I’m Reading it:

I just finished reading Lock In by John Scalzi, and that left me in the mood for another mystery/crime novel. I looked though my bookcases and saw Dog On It.

I picked this up a few months ago because I thought the premise of a detective novel from the POV of a dog could be interesting, and also very funny.

Expectations:

I’m looking for a good laugh with this one. My favorite author is Stephen King, and he does have a blurb on the back cover praising it, so that did help with the purchase. However, I am not looking too much for a real in-depth crime novel. I’m just hoping for a good mystery to keep my attention, and lots of laughs. I mean, I just picture the dog from UP trying to solve a case. He down on the ground, smelling the perps scent, and then all of a sudden… SQUIRREL!? That’s the kind of stuff I’m looking for.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

