Books On My Nightstand: November 2014 TBR

A MONTH WITH WEEKS OF EPIC FANTASY!!!

IMG_0709

Okay, so first here are a couple more puns I had thought of

  • Weeks of Weeks
  • A Month Full of Weeks
  • A Weeks’ Month
  • 4 Weeks, 2 Trilogies, 1 Weeks
  • etc… What are some you guys came up with?

Yeah, you could say I’ve been craving some Brent Weeks. Seeing as how the graphic novel adaptation of the Night Angel Trilogy was just released last month, I took it as a sign to finally get started on his books.

I’m going to start off the month with the Night Angel Trilogy (I discuss this here.) Each book is about 600 pages, but I am reading the mass market paperback editions – it’s not a hardcover 600 pages that could take weeks to get through. Since each books should’t take too long, I will probably just read the books in the series straight through.

I had planned on reading the The Lightbringer Series next, and don’t hate me for this, but I am not a big fan of getting started on series that are not complete, or have the last book coming out soon, or are at least going to release each book in consecutive years. Hate me, but I just can’t do it. I read too much, and if a series takes too long I can forget details which really takes me out of the story and can be quite frustrating. With that in mind, I knew The Lightbringer was originally going to be a but then got changed to four book. No problem there. But I was under the impression that the final book was going to be released next year in 2015… not in 2016. Because of that, I am on the fence about skipping that until I know former when the release date will be. There are many many more books series out there that I want to read and that are already complete.

Aside from these Weeks’ books (another pun!) I have NO idea really want I want to read. There are a couple of non-fiction that I might want to get into – Roman history and a doctor’s memoir – but I am really craving fantasy. We’ll see what kind of mood I’m in later.

If you have suggestions for a stand-alone fantasy novel, tell me about.

-DJ

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Books On My Nightstand: November 2014 TBR

  1. I just read the Black Prism. It was honestly the best book I’ve read in a long time! I wish I had known ahead of time that the last one wasn’t out or I wouldn’t have started it. But now I can’t stop!

    Liked by 1 person

    • djescapes says:

      That’s exactly what I’m afraid off! I just finished the Night Angel Trilogy yesterday, and read the novella today. (Great trilogy if you haven’r read it yet). I know if I start the Black Prism I’m going to get sucked in, devour all the books, and then be stuck waiting for the fourth to come out.
      I will have patience and wait…. but as soon as the release date is final, I am going to dive in.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

