Book Review: Perfect Shadow (Night Angel Trilogy #0.5) by Brent Weeks


Perfect Shadow (The Night Angel Trilogy #0.5) by Brent Weeks

Publisher: Orbit

Publication Date: June 21, 2011

Edition: ebook, 70 pages

Genre: Epic/Dark Fantasy, Novella

Rating: 4/5


A must read for all fans of the Night Angel Trilogy, and especially those who are interested in learning more about Durzo.

*Please not that this is prequel novella of a series. Meaning that if you read beyond this point, you will learn somethings about the story, that authors does not revel until the second and third books of the series.

Backcover:

 Discover the origins of Durzo Blint in this original novella set in the world of Brent Weeks’ New York Times bestselling Night Angel trilogy.

“I got a bit of prophecy,” the old assassin said. “Not enough to be useful, you know. Just glimpses. My wife dead, things like that to keep me up late at night. I had this vision that I was going to be killed by forty men, all at once. But now that you’re here, I see they’re all you. Durzo Blint.”

Durzo Blint? Gaelan had never even heard the name.

***
Gaelan Starfire is a farmer, happy to be a husband and a father; a careful, quiet, simple man. He’s also an immortal, peerless in the arts of war. Over the centuries, he’s worn many faces to hide his gift, but he is a man ill-fit for obscurity, and all too often he’s become a hero, his very names passing into legend: Acaelus Thorne, Yric the Black, Hrothan Steelbender, Tal Drakkan, Rebus Nimble.

But when Gaelan must take a job hunting down the world’s finest assassins for the beautiful courtesan-and-crimelord Gwinvere Kirena, what he finds may destroy everything he’s ever believed in.

I love and hate reading novellas/short stories about characters from books I have previously read. I love them because it brings me back to (hopefully) one of my favorite characters, re-immerses me into the world, and reminds me of how much I enjoyed the character and books before. I hate them, because of the exact same reason! I read these, fall in love all over again with the character and story and then it just done! It’s like a giant tease and I want more!

Durzo was probably my favorite character from The Night Angel Trilogy, so when I found that the prequel novella was focused on him -and that it was dealing with his origins- I was more than excited.

The novella takes place when Durzo first comes to Cenaria and leads up to a little before the The Way of Shadows begins.

What was great about this novella is that it was focused on Durzo origins and gives fan more information and answers about one of our favorite characters – it is not just some side quest or story – it was a little like closure (although by the end I was wishing for those side quest… or well, assassinations in this case). I won’t spoil what the novella reveals about Durzo, but I will say it brings up things such as his relationship with Momma K, why he first came Cenaria, how he became a wetboy and got his name, who Durzo originally was (if you’ve read the trilogy you’ll understand what I mean) and the ka’kari is mentioned as well. They is also a few cameos from other characters in the trilogy that I was not expecting!

This is a nice, short novella. (Don’t think this is going to be a slow story just because it focuses on Durzo’s origins. It is just like other books in The Night Angel Trilogy with all those high-paced, action-packed scenes. This novella doesn’t ever let up from the beginning). If you are a fan of the Trilogy, and want to revisit Midcyru and learn more about our old master, give this a read.

4/5 Rating

-DJ

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

