Book Collecting: Update #4: #BookOutletBlackFriday

BOOK OULET BLACK FRIDAY HAUL!!!

IMG_0744

So I wanted to buy a lot, and I mean a lot more books than I actually a did. The deals were unreal!!!! However, I was able to control myself – kind of – and get a “reasonable” amount of books. Although in my excitement, I did goof up a little with one thing. Here is what I picked up though!


IMG_0738

The first books that I wanted to pick up was The Eternal Sky Trilogy by Elizabeth Bear. Ever since the finally book came out earlier this year I have heard nothing but good reviews on it, and it making most people’s best books of 2014 list a well. I mean, A Ghangis Kahn type of fantasy sounds pretty cool to me. Plus, I expect the last book – or maybe even the whole trilogy? – to be on next year’s Hugo ballot. While I am not a voter, yet, I would like to read as many of the nominees as possible.

IMG_0742

Another series that has been high on TBR list is The Long Price Quartet by Daniel Abraham. Instead of having to buy all four separate novels, I lucked out and was able to purchase just two book which contained volumes 1&2 and 3&4. This is where I did goof up though. While they were selling all four novels separately, I thought they only had the one duology. So I thought I was ordering 3 books; vol. 1&2, book 3, and book 4. Turns out though, that instead of clicking book 4, I clicked on on the second duology! Guess it was a good mistake. I get return book 3 and get some money back!

IMG_0741

The final series I picked up was the Spartacus Series by Ben Kane. I was a classic major and absolutely love Greek and Roman history. I never read any of Ben Kane’s work before I was very familiar with his name and his work, and I knew he was a big name in historical fiction. While there were other series that they had; 1) This was only two book and there were a couple stand-alones I wanted to pick up and 2) instead of just getting purely fantasy, thought I would mix it up a little bit.

IMG_0739

The first stand-alone I got was The Folding Knife by K.J. Parker. I have heard K.J. has great prose, and she(?) The Engineer Trilogy which has been on my radar for quiet sometime. They did not have that series completed in stock, but I did just read about a great article of standalone from tor.com, and this was one of the books mentioned.

IMG_0740

The final book I grabbed was A Darkling Sea by James L. Cambias. This was a complete impulse buy. Because of the way the deal was working, I essentially could get one more book for free with my order. Not wanting to spend anymore money, this immediately ruled out anymore series I had been wanting.  As I was scanning through the list of books this one caught my eye. I remember reading reviews about when it came out, and then some podcast – either sfsignal or sciffyandfanty – someone on there was saying it was one of the best books they had read this year. Since there was nothing else that sticking out to me that I needed to have, figured I would give this one a shot.

Did anyone of you participate in Bookoutet Black Friday sale? If so how many and what books did you get?

#BookOutletBlackFriday

-DJ

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

