Top 5 Wednesday: Series You Want To Start This Year

118368-2

I was very excited for this Top 5 Wednesday! As soon I read the topic for this week I instantly knew this would be easy. I must have a names a dozen series off the top of my head I wanted to start… and that was when I began to think i was wrong about this being easy. Picking just 5 might prove to be difficult.

Looking at my bookshelf, I noticed that majority of the books that I own are part of a series, and that I pretty much want to start all of them ASAP. It felt good to know that I already own so many books that I want to read, however a little sad to realize that there was no way I was going to get through them all this year.

So this top 5 was a lot more difficult that I expected it be, but here’s what I got.


Top 5 Series I Want To Start This Year:

5. The Eternal Sky Trilogy by Elizabeth Bear

Word on the street says this potentially may be on the Hugo ballot this year. I plan on registering and voting for the awards this year, so need to get started with it!

4. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

I know, I know… how I have I not yet read the Harry Potter Series. In all fairness I have started the series already, and are actually on book 4! But that was back when I was 10 years old… which was quite a while ago (sad face).

3. The Lord of The Rings Series by J.R.R. Tolkien

This may not be as big of a shocker to most people, but those of fantasy are probably tearing their hair out wondering how I have gone so long without reading these. Once again, I have started the hobbit, but that too, was when I was about 10.

2. The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King

This one I am looking very forward too. King is my favorite author of all time, and just last year I finally finished collecting all the books in the series. I’m looking to start this one in March.

1. The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie

The First Law is the the first on my list! I absolutely love epic fantasy, been really into grimdark the past year, and cannot wait to dive into this. Should start this the first of second week of February.

Honorable Mentions:

The Broken Empire Trilogy by Mark Lawrence

This gets a honorable mention because I am currently reading it! I received the trilogy for Christmas, and since it short than the First Law Trilogy – which I also received as a gift – I wanted to start with this.

The Reckoners Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

As we all know, Firefight just got realized by Brandon Sanderson and he is going on tour to promote it. As is happens, I am lucky enough that he is coming to a town near me this month. I plan on going, and would to be all caught up when I go to the event.


What are some series you want to start this year?

-DJ

#T5W

Check out the Goodreads Facebook group! Top 5 Wednesday

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

