Monthly Re(ad)cap, Review, and TBR: June 2015

Book Reviews

  

  


Interviews(!?)

Yeah, that right. (Who would have though?) I was fortunate enough to be invited for an interview by SCy-Fy over at his blog. Thanks again, S.C. Flynn! 🙂

If you have not read the interview yet, you can check it out right —> HERE


 What I Read

   

   

  

This month I read 11 books!! #LikeABoss #ImAReadingMachine

Okay, some are single issue comics, and one wash finishing up a magazine, but still counts! 😛

*** I have now read 39 of my 52 book goal for the year. I am 11 books ahead! (I was 7 book last month) ***

Fun Fact: I read 38 books last year 🙂


 What I Watched

Have you been watching any of these?


Steam Summer Sale

First I have a confession to make… I – DJ – am a… a.. MAC gamer LOL

I grabbed the Dark Eye Universe Bundle, which contains Black Guards, Black Guards: Untold Legends, The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav, and Memoria – but I bought the bundle for those point-and-click adventure. Also picked up Choice of the Deathless (that’s the text-adeventure novel by Max Gladstone), and Hero Siege – it was $0.89 and I saw TodalBiscut do a WTF of it a while back and though it looked okay.

Did you pick any games up of the steam summer sale? (Also, E3… the Guardian! and Horizon Zero Down!) 


Upcoming Reviews

The Last Argument of Kings by Joe Abercrombie, Fullmetal Alchemist Vol. 3 by Hiromu Arakawa, Edge of Dark by Brenda Copper, and I’m 99% sure I’m going to read and review The Folding Knife by K.J. Parker for by Backlist Burndown Review.


Next Escapes?

Continuing with The Dark Tower series, working in some more Power Mage novellas, reading some more comics, and probably a couple other stand alone of whatever I’m in the mood for.


Cons and Author Tours!!!

Next week (July 9 – 12) I plan on attending Readercon.

I will also be going to Tor’s Big Summer Road Trip Tour (you can view it here or here) which will have Brian Staveley, James L. Cambias, Max Gladstone, and Elizabeth Bear. I will attending the signing on July 14.

If you are going to be at either of these events, and want to say hi to me there, send me a message on:

Goodreads or Twitter or email me from my NEW contact page.


As always, I want to thank everyone so much who has taken time to read, like, comment, subscribe, share, or even just look at anything on my blog 🙂

Have a awesomely fun month of reading!

-DJ

14 thoughts on “Monthly Re(ad)cap, Review, and TBR: June 2015

  1. S. C. Flynn says:

    Looks like your blog is coming along well, DJ – and your reading! Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tammy says:

    Readercon sounds like a lot of fun! And I wish the Tor tour was coming to the west coast, but that will be fun too. I look forward to hearing about your experiences 🙂

    Like

    • I hope it will be! (Missed out on it last year because of work).
      I lucked out with tour; fairly sure all those authors are from the New England area, because every time I check tours for Tor authors, I feel like they are always in CA.

      Like

  3. Oh, excited to see you picked Folding Knife for Backlist Burndown! Look forward to seeing what you think of it.

    Like

    • I’m reading/playing Choice of Deathless by Max Gladstone, and it has some of that business fantasy setting (I believe it take place in his Craft Sequence world) thing going on, and got me in the mood to read Folding Knife. I hope I like it!

      Like

  4. Now that the movies have all been made it is time for me to add The Hobbit to my list for a re-read. It has been over a decade since I last read it, and I’ve mostly forgotten the details.

    Like

    • I think the last time I had read it, I was somewhere around 10? Regardless, the only thing I clearly remember from my past read – not the movies – was the Troll scene. Also, I’m willing to bet that there are a few people out there who could read the Hobbit book quicker than watching the whole movie trilogy.

      Like

      • Ha! You are probably right about that. Especially if you are talking about the Extended Editions (which I my preferred versions of all those Jackson films).

        Liked by 1 person

        • Each extended has got to be good for another 20 minutes or so, but totally worth with Jackson.
          A while back I read some diagram on i09 showing movie length as minute per page of book, and Hobbit was the highest or top 2. I didn’t truly grasp that number until I read the dwarves arriving scene and it lasted only about a few pages XD

          Like

  5. Great month! I actually came out unscathed from the Summer Steam sale, by now I really think it’s just because I’ve gotten everything I want! Still, every year there seems to be something new that I tell myself to wait for “next year’s sale” so it never ends 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think pretty much have everything I want too, except for a couple odd games here and there – like the point-and-clicked I grabbed.
      I know it’s called “The Wishlist”, but really, it should be called “Next Seasonal Sale Wishlist” 😛

      Like

  6. lynnsbooks says:

    Nice reading! I still haven’t read the First Law series but I was just checking out your review for No.3 with a 5/5 rating which definitely makes me more anxious to start the series.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m not doing quite as great this month. I was away a Readercon one weekend – and ironically did no reading – and had a TON of writing to do for school.

      I think that was only the third 5 star rating I’ve given out this year? So yeah, AMAZING book, and strongly recommended.

      Like

Leave a Reply

