Monthly Re(ad)cap, Review, and TBR: November 2015

Book Reviews

26190378 22826126 26135360 25256034 26218581
27238248 577177 18490585


Upcoming Reviews

sfm15_3

Sci-Fi November is a month-long blog event hosted by Rinn Reads and Over The Effing Rainbow. It was created to celebrate everything amazing about science fiction. From TV shows to movies, books to comics, and everything else in between, it was intended to help us share our love and passion for this genre and its many, many fandoms.

26190378 22826126 26135360 25256034 26218581

Reviews

Story


 What I Read

25243735 26190378 26218581
20518827 77197 17318676

  • Wytches, Vol. 1 (Wytches #1 – 5 ) by 4.5/5 Rating
  • Uncanny Magazine Issue 6 (September/October 2015) – 4/5 Rating
  • Axcend #1 (Axcend #1) by Shane Davis – 2.5/5 Rating
  • Hero of Ages (Mistborn #3) by Brandon Sanderson – 4.5/5 Rating
  • Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer #1) – 4/5 Rating
  • Veil of the Deserters (The Bloodsounder’s Arc #2) by Jeff Salyards – 4/5 Rating

This month I read 6 books (1 was a comic book)

*** I have now read 76 of my 52 book goal for the year. I am 29 books ahead! (I was 29 book last month) ***


The Time Traveler’s Almanac Read Along

17910155Myself and a group of fellow time-travel enthusiasts are committed to reading and reviewing every single story in The Time Traveler’s Almanac. 

We are doing by reading one story per week and posting out review every Thursday.

To see a full list of The Time Traveler’s Almanac reviews and reading schedule, visit The Time Traveler’s Almanac Page

Follow along on Twitter with #TimeTravelThursday

Feel free to join in any join time! Just leave a comment down below 🙂

asdf


Interviews and Guest Posts

StephenZimmerAuthorPhoto unnamed

Interview: Stephen Zimmer – author of Heart of a Lion, an sword and sorcery, dark fantasy novel.

meIcon 886955 2111520 3235477

Guest Post Reviews: Jevon Knights reviews the The First Law trilogy:


Book Collecting

IMG_1178

IMG_1206


What I Watched

  • Tom Brady – Not Gronk too !!!!! 😦
  • House – Because I still love that show
  • Sons of Anarchy – I finally watched season 7 and finished this! 🙂
  • Masters Chef Junior – GREATEST SHOW EVER
  • Masters of None – Amazing show. Aziz Ansari – 5/5
  • Jessica Jones – Only 3 episodes in, but I’m going to keep watching this.

Got any recommendations?


Next Escapes?

Currently reading The Tale of Dueling Neurosurgeons, and I’m going to finish the last novella in A Knight of Seven Kingdoms by George R.R. Martin. I have Uncanny Magazine #7 lined up, and maybe The Traitor Baru Cormorant.

And, of course, The Lies of Lack Lamora! 🙂

What do you plan on reading?


The Bastard Read-Along!!!

Screen Shot 2015-11-14 at 8.07.17 PM

Kaja from OfDragonsAndHearts and myself at hosting a read along of The Gentlemen Bastards series by Scott Lynch.

The Bastard Read-Along Review Schedule:

  • The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentlemen Bastard #1)  – January 5

  • Read Sea Under Skies (Gentlemen Bastard #2) – February 15

  • The Republic of Thieves (Gentlemen Bastard #3) – March 30

This reading schedule is also perfect timing too, because The Thorn of Emberlain is scheduled for release next July.

Fellow Bastards Reading-Along:

We are not being selfish though, and would love for you to join us and read along! 🙂 If you are interested please comment down below, we will add your name to the list of readers. Or, if you decide to join in later, link up your review in the comments on either my or Kaja’s review, and we will add you name to the list and so we can all share! Also, you don’t have write a review to participate. Fell free to just read the the books, and then comeback and read everyone’s review and join in on the discussions 🙂

You read the full introduction post here


Bonus

IMG_1227

We hit 100 WordPress subscriber!!! [imagine party hat picture]

I don’t know who WordPress counts subscriber – on the bottom of my site the number is almost 250 – but either way, I did a little jump when I saw this 🙂

Fun Fact: I posted something on my blog every single weekday for the month of November!!! That was 23 posts!


Check me out on:

Goodreads or Twitter 

And The Time Traveler’s Almanac Group Read Page

And The Bastard Read-Along Page

Thank you to everyone who has taken time to read, like, comment, subscribe, share, or even just look at anything on my blog!

We hit a record again for Views, Visitors, Likes and Comments in November! #BestMonthEver

-DJ

16 thoughts on “Monthly Re(ad)cap, Review, and TBR: November 2015

  1. Kaja says:

    Wow, congrats on posting so often! I think this is what builds the most faithful following. I’ve been lagging a bit these past two months, but I finally have some more time, so hopefully things will get better.

    Have you tried watching Sense8? I assume you have Netflix if you’re watching Jessica Jones and Sense8 is another one of their original series. I LOVED it. I binged it in two or 3 days, it made me cry and I can’t wait for season 2. It’s pretty graphic, though, so you’ve been warned. 🙂 It’s confusing at first, too, so it took me 2 episodes to really get into it, but it was well worth it.

    And it’s great to see that another blogger has said he’d join our read-along! Woo 🙂

    Have a nice December!

    Like

    • When I was planning out my post for last month, that when I noticed I had so many! I still have another book collection update that I didn’t have any place to fit it! Good problems, though 😀

      I watched the first 2 episodes of Sense8 when it came out, but then I stopped… I don’t know why though. I did like it; I think maybe I got distracted by another show? I heard it gets very confusing with all the different characters and story lines. I do want to go back to watch it!

      And yes! We had a second blogger confirm they were in for the read along! 🙂 I’m going to start reading Lies as soon as I can! Book Depository goofed up a little with my copy of Lies (got lost in the mail somehow), so they just sent it out another copy. Hope this one will make it!

      Like

  2. Kaja says:

    Ugh, I could have sworn I wrote a comment here already! Did WordPress eat it? Hell if I know…

    Anyway – congrats on your followers! 🙂

    Try watching Sense8 on Netflix if you have it (I assume you do if you’re watching Jessica Jones – I’m still not entirely convinced I like that show but am giving it another chance). Sense8 is GREAT.

    And I’m really glad someone else decided to join our read-along, woo! 🙂

    Have a nice December!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s because I have to “approve” comments before they are posted. It should have said that your comment is awaiting approval or something like that? Not sure.

      I’m actually not sure why I still have it under approve first. I think about changing it every once in a while. I’ve never had a “negative” comment or any reason to decline someone’s comment, and SPAM has always picked those ones. I guess just in case one does slipped by, better for me to have the chance to catch it.

      And have a happy December!! 😀

      Like

  3. Tammy says:

    I’m really tempted to do the Bastard series read along, but I’ve never done one and I’m not sure I can read that and keep up with other books. Hmmmm I’ll have to think about it:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • This isn’t actually a difficult read-along. It’s not every week or a bunch of questions to answer. We are all just reading the books and posting out reviews on the same day, so we talk about them then 🙂 And there is good space between each reviews so there is plenty of time to read each one.

      Plus, I saw you comment on Lynn’s blog today, and this read-along would be the perfect way to get ready for the release of book 4! So then you can read and review that book for your site when it comes out 😉 Win, win.

      Like

  4. Great job posting everyday! I was doing better, but now I my time has slipped a bit. Oh well 🙂 And really look forward to seeing your reaction to the Gentleman Bastard books (you’re going to love them!)

    Like

  5. @lynnsbooks says:

    I hope you enjoy the readalong. I love the GBs.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  6. Fantastic month. I LOL’ed at your “What I Watched” because my husband had the same reaction when he watched the game (yeah, we’re a Patriots family in a Ravens town). I don’t really follow football, but I’m aware of everything that’s happening with New England because of him. I know they’ve had many injuries, but here’s hoping the Gronk won’t be kept off the field too long.

    And I have plans to marathon Jessica Jones as well. Didn’t get a chance to with family in town, it’s not exactly happy fluffy programming when my folks were staying with us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • My roommate in college was a Raven’s fan. He was also a rugby players and VERY intense. When ever Pats and Ravens played, we never watched together LOL I remember when the Pats beat the Raven in playoffs a few years back because the Raven’s kicker missed the field – I asked my friend if I could hang out in her room for a few more hours, because I didn’t want to be in the room for when he got back XD And when I saw him later that night, he was not in a good mood XD

      But that Broncos game…. that was just about worst possible night for all of Pats nation. To lose Gronk and lose the game! Luckily though, they say Gronk only be out a couple weeks. Phew!

      Like

      • I remember that game. My husband was set to doom mode because he was sure the Ravens kicker would make the field goal. I made an offhand comment, “Maybe he’ll miss,” he he was like, “No, no, these guys are trained for this, kicking is all they do, he won’t miss.” But then he did! It was such an insane moment. I was sure we could hear all our neighbors screaming their pain, while we were the only house rejoicing.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. proxyfish says:

    Great month! And congrats on your 100!! 😀 I can’t wait for you to get stuck into The Lies of Locke Lamora – I really hope you enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

