Book Collecting: Update #18

IMG_1228

LONG OVERDUE – but here are some books I got singed back in October!


IMG_1247 IMG_1248

  • An Apprentice to Wolves by Sarah Monette and Elizabeth Bear

The event I went to was a signing for this book. But as you can see, I brought some others 🙂

I don’t know about you, but when I go to these things, or go to get an author’s autograph, I’ve always wanted to ask a good question. Well, when Sarah was signing copies of The Goblin Emperor (see picture below) she was crossing out “Katherine Addison” and signing her name as “Sarah Monette”. So, I was curious and asked, “Does that mean the next Goblin Emperor book is going to by ‘Sarah’ or are you going to keep using ‘Katherine’?” Sarah, paused and said she didn’t didn’t know yet, but that was a very good question, and Elizabeth even joined in the when she heard that! So yeah, I asked a good question; squeed a little inside too 😄

For those who are curious: I believe she will keep “Katherine Addison” because that is name that won/notimated for all the awards.


IMG_1242 IMG_1244

  • The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

I don’t know if you people know but The Goblin Emperor is one of my favorite books of all-time!!!!!!!!!!!! Regrettably, I read this book before I started my blog, so I don’t have a review of it :/ However, to get an idea of how much I did love this book: this year, 2015, was the first year I became a nominating and voting member for the Hugo Awards. Why was this my first year? Because after I read The Goblin Emperor, I loved it so much(!), I had to do my part and everything I could to made sure everyone knew how special this story was! To do that, I got a membership so I could nominate it, and I made sure that every time I read a blog talking about the Best Novel, I made sure I commented down below that The Goblin Emperor was my favorite and that I would be nominating it! 😀

As we all know, certain… animals… snuck out of their pens and caused a tad bit of a ruckus. Now, personally, I do have not have a problem with Three Body Problem winning Best Novel, however, if that puppy fiasco didn’t happen, I am 100% certain that The Goblin Emperor would have won. It only barely lost as it is. I don’t want to get into a Hugo argument here, (and any type of hate comments for ether side will not be permitted in the comments) but please check out this article from Chaoz Horizons about why I am so confident that The Goblin Emperor was the true Hugo winner. Again, I want to say, I have no issues and was very happy to see that Three Body Problem won the Award 🙂


IMG_1236 IMG_1237

  • Shattered Pillars (Eternal Sky #3) by Elizabeth Bear

I still have only read the first book, Steles of the Sky, but I do have all three books! Since I had the first two books signed, it only made sense to get the final one signed as well!

Also, I believe this was the 4th time I had seen Elizabeth at a convention/author event in like 3 months. So this time, when I saw her, she remember my name! 🙂

And I totally expect you to sill remember it for next time I see you, Elizabeth 😛


IMG_1230 IMG_1234
IMG_0986 IMG_1251

  • Rogues edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardener Dozois
  • The 50th Anniversary SFWA Cookbook

Then, because Elizabeth Bear and Scott Lynch are engaged, I figured it was a safe bet that Scott would be there as well. And I was right!!!!

I actually read A Year and a Day in Old Theradane in Uncanny Magazine #5 (my review) and it was my favorite short story I’ve read this year!

This was also when I told him that I had a certain friend, Kaja @OfDragonsAndHearts, might be translating his books 😉

And if you haven’t heard, Kaja and myself are co-hosting a read-along of the first three books of The Gentlemen Bastard series starting next month!

THE BASTARD READ-ALONG

Click here to read more about it 😀


Read any of these books yet? Get any good signing lately? Are you participating in The Bastard Read-Along?

Let me know what’s good!

-DJ

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Book Collecting: Update #18

  1. Awesome signed books! I recently finished An Apprentice to Elves – if you LOVED The Goblin Emperor I think you’ll like it too, I got some similar vibes from it 🙂

    Like

  2. Bookwraiths says:

    Great haul, brother. I’m a little jealous, because I never ask good questions at these things. :/

    Like

    • Man, it was total fluke 😄 I had wanted to ask about the follow up to Goblin Emperor but knew she had probably answered that hundreds of times – and sure enough, she mentioned it right at the start of the events by first saying she had been asked thousands of times and there will be no sequel. Close call!

      I was just going to go with “I love you book” and hope that went well, then I saw her singing… pure luck 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharry says:

    This was the first year I participated fully as a member of the Hugos, too! Also, gaahh, asking good questions to an author I greatly admire…that is what I hope to do one day (once I get over the whole getting-all-choked-up-with-nervousness problem :P) I have not read the Goblin Emperor but I am putting it on my to-reads list, now, thanks to your enthusiastic mention!

    Like

    • Ah! I’m still working on my author talking skills :/ I either talk super fast and can think of nothing except “I loved your book”. YES. YOU MUST READ GOBLIN EMPEROR. The names/pronunciation is a bit difficult at first, but the story is amazing 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

