Book Collecting: Update #22

IMG_1435

I got MAD review copies last month!!!!


Physical Copies 

IMG_1437

I LOVE getting request to review books from authors and publishers! (It makes me feel so special!) 😀 😛 But I am very particular of which books I do accept to review, because there are hundreds (literally!) of books that I own already – that I have gone out of my way to buy – that I still want to read!

This means, that unless you an author/publisher I know/have read before contacts me, odds are I’m going to pass on your novel. One exception though, and what I have been dying to be contact about(!) – is some type of anthology!

While I may not have that time to sit down and read a 400+ page novel, give me that length in short-stories, which allows me read and review a couple stories each week – that is something I’d love to check out!

So, when Chris Pourteau contacted me about reviewing his anthology (in physical form!), I could not say yes quick enough! 🙂

You should this review in April.

And, I forgot to put in a picture of it, but Chris did sign the book too! Thanks, Chris!


IMG_1444 IMG_1441 IMG_1449IMG_1439

I was also contacted by 01Publishing about reviewing some books from their catalog.

Occasionally, I do post reviews for the comics I have been reading (I’ve been slacking on that bad the past couple months, sorry folks! They’ll be back soon!) and in there, they had a few graphic novels that looked like they would be fun!

You’ll see those reviews start later this month, and go into March.

Another title that caught my eye was Whispers from the Abyss. I’ve actually never read any Lovecraft, but again, it is an anthology (in physical form!), so I figured I’d give it a go!

That anthology’s review should be posted in April, too.

Thanks for the books, 01Publishing!


Digital Copies

28628951 27812211

really don’t like reading ebooks; I have always, and always will, prefer reading physical books, and I collect books, too – so it is extremely rare that I will accept to review an ebook (with a couple exceptions: such as Heretics of the Chains by Jeff Salyards which will be posted tomorrow, February 9).

However, these two books here are fairly short for novels (200 pages or less, I believe), and I thought they sounded very interesting! While I could not promise these authors that I will read and review their book, I did say that I will make an effort to check them out if I get ahead of my reading schedule – so, it may be a while.

Until I do get a chance to read these, you can check out:


Net Galley

26251608 25543925 26184145 25368958

As I have said, like several times in this post already, I do not read ebooks. This begs the question: Why, DJ, would you sign up for Net Galley then?! Simple; I want my blog to get a little bit more popular XD

You’ll notice that each one of these book is due to be released in a different month. My intention is to read and review one new, soon-to-be-released book (that I am genuinely excited to check out) each month before it is released, with the goal of getting publishers to notice my blog, so maybe I will get a better chance at getting more physical early review copies 🙂

Down Station by Simon Morden – February 18… You’ll see this review later this month!

Snakewood by Adrian Selby – March 15… I emailed Orbit, I think, 3 times about getting an early review copy – unless Winds of Winter comes out at the end of this year, I think this may be my most anticipated release this year – so even though this is ebook, when I requested it on Net Galley and it got accepted, I literally did a little jump and victory dance 😀

Arena by Holly Jennys – April 5, 2016… I have seen this one a few WoWs and my inner-gamer is excited to check it out.

The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power – July 5… I have seen this on WoWs, as well, but LOOK AT THE COVER!


Read any of these books yet? Did you get review copes for any of these too?

Let me know what’s good!

-DJ

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Book Collecting: Update #22

  1. Tammy says:

    If you start to read your Kindle more and more, you might discover that reading review books on a Kindle is actually EASIER than with a physical book. I get so lazy trying to take notes in a notebook when I’m reading a physical book, but it’s so easy to highlight e-books so you don’t forget important stuff:-)

    Like

  2. Bookwraiths says:

    Congrats! I’m sure all those books will keep you happily reading for a while. 🙂

    Like

  3. Redhead says:

    That Apocalypse Antho looks great!!

    i’m always so nervous to request Netgalley books, because then i forget about them, and they get archived, and then it’s gone and I can’t read it. oops.

    Like

  4. Welcome to the wonderful world of NetGalley! I love it reading ebooks and I love NG, but clearing my shelf there is a like Sisyphean task. Every time I send in new feedback, I can’t help but request more, so one step forward two steps back 🙂

    And that anthology looks really cool! I’m not really into short stories, but I had to look that one up because ANIMALS! Apocalyptic collections are a dime a dozen, but one that’s focused on animals? Now that’s something you don’t see everyday.

    Like

  5. Woo-hoo! Lots of great books. I’m really looking forward to Snakewood, Arena and Dragon Round. Also, I am crap at actually reading anthologies! It is great to see you actually do get to them 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

