The Friday Face-Off: Here be Dragons

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a new weekly meme hosted by Books by Proxy. Join us every Friday as we pit cover against cover, and publisher against publisher, to find the best artwork in our literary universe.


The Friday Face-Off: Here be Dragons

The Adamantine Palace (The Memory of Flames #1) by Stephen Deas

70763965037673asdf

asdf

asdf
asdf

VS.

asdf

asdf

asdf

asdf


Roc – US Cover

7076396

Cover art by Stephen Youll

◊  ◊  ◊

Gollancz – UK Cover

5037673

Cover art by Dominic Harman


The Friday Face-Off Winner is…

7076396

Roc – US Cover; Cover Art by Stephen Youll

I do like the UK Cover. The mostly green background, with gold detailed border – how they are both fading gives me a calming feeling, and with that font choice, the word “beautiful” comes to mind. Even the lone dragon, very small, with a soft blue color, adds to the relaxing feeling I get when I look it.

The US Cover on the other end… almost the exact opposite. First, it terms of straight artstyle, I am fan of the US. Second, just look at what is there! It’s some type of ninja/samurai/warrior, riding on top of a golden armored dragon!!! How can you not want to pick up that book and read the story is?!

Which cover do you think is the best?

-DJ

Tagged , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “The Friday Face-Off: Here be Dragons

  1. Ah, these are hard to choose between! The quality and detail of the US cover is amazing however I also love the simple, enchanted feel to the UK cover 🙂

    Like

  2. proxyfish says:

    Incidentally, I actually bought The Adamantine Palace at exactly the same time as I bought Temeraire – and I’ve read neither!!! Shocking. As for the covers they’re both gorgeous. I love the subtlety of the UK cover, it just looks magical. But that US cover really grabs the attention doesn’t it? I love them both! If I had to choose one I think I’d go for the UK but it’s a really tough choice!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with your choice. There’s a lot more going on in it, with a clear subject and depth etc. The other one is very stylized, simple and elegant and yet…kind of boring. Not too fond of the color choices either, with a pale blue dragon against the dark green!

    Like

  4. The US cover is really much more appealing- that alone would make me want to pick it up and at least read the synopsis. I think it also gives you more of an idea as to the plot and potential of the story.

    Like

  5. UK cover for me actually 🙂 But can definitely see why you would pick the US one.

    Like

  6. Zezee says:

    I prefer the US cover as well. It makes me curious of what the book is about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

