Tops 5 Reads of 2015! 5 Star Books

Throughout the month of January (more like February now, I guess) first few months of the 2016 year, I will posting various “best of” lists, ranging from the best books I read that were published in 2015, to my top 5 and 4 stars reads of 2015, to the best short fiction of 2015, and to my favorite foodie quotes!

Today, I am happy to announce my…

Top 5 Reads of 2015! 5 Star Books


5. The Well of Ascension (Mistborn #3) by Brandon Sanderson

18490647-2

About the Book:

#1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson’s epic Mistborn Trilogy continues with The Well of Ascension.

They did the impossible, deposing the godlike being whose brutal rule had lasted a thousand years. Now Vin, the street urchin who has grown into the most powerful Mistborn in the land, and Elend Venture, the idealistic young nobleman who loves her, must build a healthy new society in the ashes of an empire.

They have barely begun when three separate armies attack. As the siege tightens, an ancient legend seems to offer a glimmer of hope. But even if it really exists, no one knows where to find the Well of Ascension or what manner of power it bestows.

It may just be that killing the Lord Ruler was the easy part. Surviving the aftermath of his fall is going to be the real challenge.

My Rating: 5/5

Why You Should It: Do I really need to give you a reason to read this? How could you not want to continue on with the Mistborn trilogy after reading Mistborn: The Final Empire? Vin? Kelsier? Elend? C’mon people!

Read My Review

4. Mistborn: The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson

18490585-2

About the Book:

Following on the heels of Sanderson’s successful launch into the YA market with the New York Times bestselling Rithmatist comes Mistborn, now repackaged for the teen audience

Once, a hero rose to save the world. He failed.

For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably.

Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and defeating the Lord Ruler. A new kind of uprising is being planned—one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine: a teenage street urchin named Vin.

Once, a hero rose to save the world and failed. This time, can a young heroine succeed?

My Rating: 5/5

Why You Should It: I was late coming to the Sanderson party, with this year (2015) being the first time I ever read him. But since joining in, I have partied hard! 😄 Mistborn: The Final Empire is the fifth book I’ve read by him this year, and, like all the other books, I had essentially zero problems, and went through the book like nothing

This was book that made Sanderson call him one of my favorite authors – a list that only includes two other names. 

Read My Review

3. Percepliquis (Ryria Revelations #6) by Michael J. Sullivan

s-typeopts13

About the Book:

IT ALL COMES DOWN TO THIS…THE ELVES HAVE CROSSED THE NIDWALDEN. TWO THIEVES WILL DECIDE THE FUTURE.

“I saw a great journey. Ten upon the road, she who wears the light will lead the way. The road goes deep into the earth, and into despair. The voices of the dead guide your steps. You walk back in time. The three-thousand-year battle begins again. Cold grips the world, death comes to all, and a choice is before you.” — Fan Irlanu, Tenkin Seerer of Oudorro Village

Percepliquis is the final installment of the epic fantasy, The Riyria Revelations. In this saga that began with The Crown Conspiracy, two thieves caught in the wrong place at the right time were launched on a series of ever escalating adventures that have all lead to this moment. Three thousand years have passed and the time for Novron’s heir to act has arrived.

My Rating: 5/5

Why You Should It: I built up an immense bond to all of these characters; their’s personalities, individual stories, and relationships. All of the laugh of loud moments of Hadrian and Royce; That lovable and innocent Myron; Seeing character’s like Arista and Modina battle through hardships and come out stronger than before. To think that these books started out with Royce and Hadrian hired to just steal a sword, and to see where that took them. The story that began to be told in the background – the history of the Old Empire, the world of Elan, and the Gods- and watching it unfold, come to the front, and having all the pieces coming together at the end. I will miss this series… but good thing there is still the Riyria Chronicles to read!!!

Read My Review

2. The Last Argument of Kings (First Law #3) by Joe Abercrombie

3235477-2

About the Book:

The end is coming.

Logen Ninefingers might only have one more fight in him but its going to be a big one. Battle rages across the North, the King of the Northmen still stands firm, and there’s only one man who can stop him. His oldest friend, and his oldest enemy. Its past time for the Bloody-Nine to come home.

With too many masters and too little time, Superior Glokta is fighting a different kind of war. A secret struggle in which no-one is safe, and no-one can be trusted. His days with a sword are far behind him. Its a good thing blackmail, threats and torture still work well enough.

Jezal dan Luthar has decided that winning glory is far too painful, and turned his back on soldiering for a simple life with the woman he loves. But love can be painful too, and glory has a nasty habit of creeping up on a man when he least expects it.

While the King of the Union lies on his deathbed, the peasants revolt and the nobles scramble to steal his crown. No-one believes that the shadow of war is falling across the very heart of the Union. The First of the Magi has a plan to save the world, as he always does. But there are risks. There is no risk more terrible, after all, than to break the First Law…

My Rating: 5/5

Why You Should It:  You should read the first two books in the trilogy before this one (obviously), but if you are working your way through the trilogy, and like me, were wondering what everyone making such a big deal about – well, this book is why people the First Law trilogy at the top of their lists.

I’ve read series where the each book in the series got better, or the final book was the best, but DAMN! This will make you you look at the series in a whole new light; one of the FINEST character-driven fantasy series, I’ve ever read!

Read My Review

1. Steelheart (Reckoners #1) by Brandon Sanderson

17182126

About the Book:

Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics. But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his wills.

Nobody fights the Epics…nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.

And David wants in. He wants Steelheart — the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David’s father. For years, like the Reckoners, David’s been studying, and planning — and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience.

He’s seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge.

My Rating: 5/5

Why You Should It: Because is #1 on my list! DUH!

STEELHEART WAS THE BEST BOOK I READ LAST YEAR!!!!!!!

This was my first Sanderson novel, ever, and I do not like super-hero stories (nothing against Spiderman, and Batman, and all of them – I think I’m just tired of the media over-saturation of them). So why did I pick this up? The only reason I picked this up was because Sanderson was coming to a town near me for his Firefight book tour, and I wanted to see if I liked it and would go to the event to pick up the sequel… I ended up reading 7 books by Sanderson last year.

This was my title for my Steelheart review: Apparently Sanderson’s superpower is super-writing! (Super-original too, I know)

😄

Read My Review

-DJ

6 thoughts on “Tops 5 Reads of 2015! 5 Star Books

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    I’ve got behind with Sanderson since the Mistborn series although I have read his Way of Kings and Words of Radiance which I loved. I do fancy reading Steelheart and in fact think I have a copy which I need to go and find!
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  2. 3 out of 5 Sanderson! And how awesome that Steelheart was your favorite book of the whole year! Have you started Firefight yet? I thought it was even better 😀

    Like

    • I did read Firefight! Like, the day after I finished Steelheart actually LOL I still like it a lot, but didn’t think it was quite as good (only a 4.5 star) 😉

      But it’s so crazy to think that it, the third book I’d read that year and basically picked up on a whim, was the BEST book of the year. On the other hand though, the first book I’ve read this year was The Lies of Locke Lamora, which I gave a 5 Star too, and the move I think back on it, the more likely I am of think of adding it to my all-time favorites list.

      Like

  3. So, you like Sanderson? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

