The Friday Face-Off: Water, Water Everywhere

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a new weekly meme hosted by Books by Proxy. Join us every Friday as we pit cover against cover, and publisher against publisher, to find the best artwork in our literary universe.


The Friday Face-Off: Water, Water Everywhere

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

1607822015783514

asdf

asdf

a

asdfsdfasdf
VS.

asdf

asdf

asdf

asdf


 William Morrow – US Cover

15783514

Cover art by Lane Coder

◊  ◊  ◊

Headline – UK Cover

16078220

Cover art by (?)


The Friday Face-Off Winner is…

15783514

William Morrow – US Cover; Cover Art by Lane Coder

That UK one looks like amateur photoshop. I mean, the font choice is horrible, and the photo they chose to use of the kid in the water is like a bad nirvana rip-off.

I DO like the US cover though. I won’t remember it anywhere close to one of my favorites, but I find it gives a soothing feeling. I think it’s because of the light shining through the water on to the floor – I like that.

Which cover do you think is the best?

-DJ

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Friday Face-Off: Water, Water Everywhere

  1. Zezee says:

    Yes! It does remind me of a Nirvana cover. I like US cover better because it’s haunting.
    Here’s mine https://zezeewithbooks.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/the-friday-face-off-water-water-everywhere/

    Like

  2. sjhigbee says:

    I do like the artwork on the UK cover – but I completely agree with you regarding the font – it’s horrible!

    Like

  3. @lynnsbooks says:

    Haha – I also used this one! And I would have chosen the same cover but I found a third one! I had surprisingly few for this topic – although I also thought about The Guns of Ivrea – the problem is that there is no alternative cover so no face off!
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  4. I was just telling Lynn that though I’m not participating in Faceoff, when I saw the theme for this week I thought of TOatEotL too! I actually love the UK cover – agreed that the font is awful, but the silhouette of the boy is so striking and interesting (perspective wise) and the bright circle of light really draws the eye.

    Like

  5. proxyfish says:

    The US cover hands down! It’s actually find it quite creepy… in a way… but I love it all the same! And though I don’t hate the UK imagery I have to agree on the font!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

