The Friday Face-Off: Like One, That on a Lonesome Road

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a new weekly meme hosted by Books by Proxy. Join us every Friday as we pit cover against cover, and publisher against publisher, to find the best artwork in our literary universe.


The Friday Face-Off: Like One, That on a Lonesome Road

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

850062 3254246

asdf

asdf

a

asdfsdfasdf
VS.

asdf

asdf

asdf

asdf


Vintage Books – US Cover

3254246

Cover art by John Gall

◊  ◊  ◊

Picador – UK Cover

850062

Cover art by (?)


The Friday Face-Off Winner is…

3254246

Vintage Books – US Cover; Cover art by John Gall

I didn’t just any cover that features a road this week. Oh, no. I got one that features “the” road 😄

I do not think there I any competition here. It is literally a black cover, with the title in white, and author’s name some burnt red/orange (rust?), using basic font. It really doesn’t get more simple that – but when you read the description of the book, that black cover suddenly seems like a bleak cover, and sets a good mood for reading this story.
UK looks like I’m driving down the road at night with high beams, and some took a photo of it using the negative camera setting. Doesn’t fit the story’s mood or plot at all.

Which cover do you think is the best?

-DJ

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “The Friday Face-Off: Like One, That on a Lonesome Road

  1. Definitely agree with you, US cover wins for me to.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s such a thing as too plain for a cover, and I think I prefer the UK version just to have something to look at. But of course, I haven’t read the book so for all I know the total starkness of the US cover might actually be the one that captures its tone better 🙂

    Like

  3. proxyfish says:

    I do rather like the simplicity of the US cover – it’s not something we actually get that often! The UK cover doesn’t really do anything for me at all. Yep definitely a US winner!

    Like

  4. @lynnsbooks says:

    I like both covers, probably I would go for the UK version just because it looks really creepy (into the woods!) but I do like the simplicity of the US.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

