Monthly Archives: May 2016

Book Review & Giveaway: Spear of Light (The Glittering Edge #2) by Brenda Cooper

Spear of Light (Glittering Edge #2) by Brenda Cooper

Publisher: Pyr

Publication Date: June 7, 2016

Edition: Paperback, 320 pages

Genre: Science-Fiction

Rating: 4/5


The Glittering Edge duology is a must read sci-fi series. 
Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , ,

Author Interview: Michael R. Underwood

711FDzV3gML._UX250_

Today I am interviewing Michael R. Underwood, author of the science fiction and fantasy, including the genre-hopping novellas series, Genrenauts, which currently has a Kickstarter running for a complete season one collection.

◊  ◊  ◊

DJ: Hey Michael! Thanks for stopping by to do this interview! You are an extremely active member of the SF/F community. For readers who aren’t familiar with you, could you tell us a little about yourself?

Michael R. Underwood: Hi! I’m Michael R. Underwood, but I go by Mike everywhere but my byline. I’ve written eight books across several series, from the Ree Reyes Geekomancy books where fandom is a magic system to Shield and Crocus, a weird fantasy supers novel and The Younger Gods, a supernatural thriller.

DJ: What is the Genrenauts series about? And what is a “genrenaut”?

MRU: Genrenauts is an adventure science fiction series told in novellas, for fans of Leverage, Quantum Leap, Redshirts, and/or the works of Jasper Fforde.

In Genrenauts, our Earth is one of many. Every other world is the home of a story genre, from Western or Fantasy to Romance, Action, Crime, etc. Stories play out in these worlds – familiar tale types, archetypal characters, and so on.

When stories on these worlds go off-track, you send in the Genrenauts. This team of narrative specialists travels across dimensions to find, analyze, and fix broken stories. If they don’t, the ripples manifest as violence and upheaval in our own world (when Science Fiction World goes off-track, scientific innovation stagnates and exploration halts; when Fantasy World goes off-track, xenophobia rises and cultural rifts widen, etc.).

Stand-up comedian Leah Tang is recruited to join the Genrenauts as stories are breaking at a record pace. Will she adapt to the bizarre and dangerous life of a Genrenaut, or will she end up as just another broken story? Continue reading

Tagged , , , ,

The Friday Face-Off: Renewed Shall be Blade that Was Broken

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a new weekly meme hosted by Books by Proxy. Join us every Friday as we pit cover against cover, and publisher against publisher, to find the best artwork in our literary universe.


The Friday Face-Off: Shall be Blade that Was Broken

A Dance of Blades (Shadowdance #2) by David Dalglish

1736823311197379

asdf

asdf

a

asdfsdfasdf
VS.

asdf

asdf

asdf

asdf


Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Book Review: The Conjurers by David Waid

The Conjurers: A Gritty Fantasy of Witches and Wizards by David Waid

Publisher: Deadlock Publishing

Publication Date: June 1, 2016

Edition: Paperback, 319 pages

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 3/5


 Magic, demons, and wizards!
Continue reading

Tagged , , , , ,

Author Interview: Kelley Grant

61PS28T6XNL._UX250_

Today I am interviewing Kelley Grant, author of the fantasy novel, The World Weavers, third book and final book of the Desert Rising series.

◊  ◊  ◊

DJ: Hey Kelley! Thanks for stopping by to do this interview!

For readers who aren’t familiar with you, could you tell us a little about yourself?

Kelley Grant: Thanks for having me! I’ve written the Desert Rising Trilogy and two unpublished novels. I also teach yoga and meditation. I grew up in the hills around Amish country and am most comfortable out in nature – hiking, gardening or meditating by our little creek. I’m owned by five cats and a dog.

DJ: What is The World Weavers about? What can readers of the series expect in the latest installment? Anything new? Any surprises?

KG: World Weavers starts with war beginning between the two Territories. Sulis and Kadar learn what sacrifices they must make to weave the world back to wholeness before the angry deities destroy everything they love. There are several familiar characters who now get viewpoints in World Weavers. Kadar grows into his powers in this novel, rather than being eclipsed by his more outgoing twin. Sadly, it is war and some of the characters don’t make it to the end.  Continue reading

Tagged , , , ,

Author Interview: Marc Turner

8531097

Today I am interviewing Marc Turner, author of The Chronicles of the Exile series. The second book, Dragon Hunters, is out now, and features Chameleon priests, dimension-hopping assassins, and sea dragons being hunted for sport.

◊  ◊  ◊

DJ: Hey Marc! Thanks for stopping by to do this interview! I want to ask you several specific questions about Dragon Hunters, but first, let’s take care of some of these mandatory questions: For readers who aren’t familiar with you, could you tell us a little about yourself?

Marc Turner: Hi, thanks for inviting me. I’m Marc Turner, and I write epic fantasy books with a dark edge and a liberal sprinkling of humour. I live in Durham in the UK, and when I’m not writing, I’m doing more writing, reading, escaping into the countryside, and trying in vain to keep up with my seven-year-old son.

DJ: What is Dragon Hunters about?

MT: At its core, Dragon Hunters is about a military coup led by Imerle Polivar, the head of a group of powerful water-mages called the Storm Lords. Imerle’s five-year tenure is about to end, but she has no intention of stepping down graciously. As part of her plot to hold on to power, she tries to sabotage the annual Dragon Hunt, and thus unleash chaos on her rivals. Continue reading

Tagged , , , ,

Kindle Deal Alert: Kip the Quick by Clifton Hill

About the Book:

Witty, fast-paced fantasy heist where morality is…debatable.

Kip is a young thief on the hard streets of Tander in the middle of the Sparelands — a dry, hot piece of hell, hit with frequent and terrible storms. All he wants to do is leave, but first he must save enough to cover fare for the only safe exit in town: the iron wain.

With six months to go, the job of a lifetime lands in his lap: To steal a vial of the Essence — a piece of myth and legend. He’ll do anything to pull it off, but the question is… Will he survive? Continue reading

Tagged , ,

The Friday Face-Off: Just Then Flew Down a Monstrous Crow

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a new weekly meme hosted by Books by Proxy. Join us every Friday as we pit cover against cover, and publisher against publisher, to find the best artwork in our literary universe.


The Friday Face-Off: Just Then Flew Down a Monstrous Crow

The Last Mortal Bond (Chronicles of The Unhewn Throne #3) by Brian Staveley

2959012125605400

asdf

asdf

a

asdfsdfasdf
VS.

asdf

asdf

asdf

asdf


Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , ,