The Friday Face-Off: In The Beginning There Was Nothing, Which Exploded

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a new weekly meme hosted by Books by Proxy. Join us every Friday as we pit cover against cover, and publisher against publisher, to find the best artwork in our literary universe.


The Friday Face-Off: In The Beginning There Was Nothing, Which Exploded

Firefight (Reckoners #2) by Brandon Sanderson

2196507415704459-3

asdf

asdf

asdf
asdf

VS.

asdf

asdf

asdf

asdf


 Delacorte Press – US Cover

15704459-3

Cover art by Craig Shields

◊  ◊  ◊

Gollancz – UK Cover

21965074

Cover art by Sam Green


 The Friday Face-Off Winner is…

21965074

Gollancz – UK Cover; Cover Art by Sam Green

When I was thinking of a cover with an explosion, Firefight was the book that came to mind. However, I then immediately remember that the UK covers for I think every Sanderson books are done by Sam Green. So, the US didn’t have a chance XD Still, I will what I liked/don’t like about each:

I said this before when I did a Friday Face-Off for Mitosis: the US covers are too “YA” looking for me. Granted it is  a YA story, but still – the cover make me feel like I am about to read a story that I meant for kids, not a story that can are be read by adults (and more readers probably are too!)

Aside from the layout, font, artistic talent, and color scheme, when I like most about the cover is the design that Green chose. The US seen doesn’t really have any relation to Firefight (I’m guessing though, the sky exploding has something to do with Calamity), but the UK is an actual scene. That is exactly how the city is: water level brought up to the roofs off all the buildings. The UK gives an accurate information for what is inside the book.

Which cover do you think is the best?

-DJ

Tagged , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “The Friday Face-Off: In The Beginning There Was Nothing, Which Exploded

  1. While I love the UK cover, I have to say the whole black-and-white washed out look they have going with Brandon Sanderson books over there is wearing on me. It’s nice that they all have this uniform look, but eh, I need some variety now and then 🙂

    Like

  2. I tend to prefer cover art that has more colour going on, but the US version just has way too much of everything going on. The font on the US version is also terrible, so UK definitely wins for me!

    Like

  3. […] DJ @ MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape – Firefight by Brandon Sanderson […]

    Like

  4. sjhigbee says:

    I’m with you – I far prefer the UK cover, despite the colourful explosion on the US cover:). I think the UK branding for Brandon Sanderson is really cool and clever – his books are immediately recognisable on the shelves and in Kindle lists.

    Like

  5. @lynnsbooks says:

    I actually like the US cover! I find the UK Sanderson covers not really to my taste – I picked up the US covers for Way of Kings and Words of Radiance for that reason.
    Great choice of book – I really struggled with this one!
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

