Tops 10 Reads of 2015! Short Fiction

Everybody is out here announcing their “best of 2016” lists – and I still haven’t finished tell everyone what I loved from 2015!!!

I got lazy earlier this year, and the started school, and here we are now, almost a full 12 months post 2015 X… Oops! XD

Today, I am happy to announce my…

Top 10 Reads of 2015! Short Fiction


10. Fish Night (The Time Traveler’s Almanac) by Joe Lansdale

17910155

My Rating: 4/5

Why You Should It: You ever read a book, where the ending leaving stunned, mouth hanging open… and then you suddenly burst out laughing as tears roll down your face? Fish Night has that kind of ending XD

Read My Review

.

.

.

.

9. Noble Mold (The Time Traveler’s Almanac) by Kage Baker

17910155

My Rating: 5/5

Why You Should It: I’ve read a NUMBER of stories during The Time Traveler’s Almanac Read-Along, but this one is by far the best one of the collection that I’ve read!

Read My Review

.

.

.

.
.

8. Three Voices (Uncanny Magazine #4: May/June 2015) by Lisa Bolekaja

25512238

My Rating: 4/5

Why You Should It: Lisa is able to convey the greatest song I’ve never heard nor will hear simply by using her characters emotions and reaction to the singer.

Read My Review

.

.

.

.
.

7. Catcall (Uncanny Magazine #5: July/August 2015) by Delia S. Dawson

25867225

My Rating: 4/5

Why You Should It: You should be able to get what the story will be about based off the title – and it delivers a very powerful and eye-opening message.

Read My Review

.

.

.

.
.

6. Eat Fish and Die by S. Ron Mars

515r8yeuqjl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

My Rating: 4/5

Why You Should It: This was the  funniest story I read last year.

The characters, dialogs, narration, and plot are all hilarious. There was not a single joke that fell flat! And this is not some stupid, cheap story. S. Ron Mars is a great writer, with a great sense of humor, who can write hilarious jokes.

Read My Review

.

.

5. Midnight Hour (Uncanny Magazine #5: July/August 2015) by Mary Robinette Kowal

25867225

My Rating: 4/5

Why You Should It: You may think you’ve read the classic fairy-tale of the King and Queen who has a curse bestowed upon them. And you may have. But you have NOT read a version this.

Read My Review

.

.

.

.

4. During the Dance by Mark Lawrence

22677452

My Rating: 4.5/5

Why You Should It: This is an excellent example of how to write an effective short story.

It is about a short as as short story can be (9 page), but on man will this leave an impact on you.

Read My Review

.

.

.
.

3. The Oiran’s Song (Uncanny Magazine #6: September/October 2015) by Isabel Yap

26190378

My Rating: 4.5/5

Why You Should It: A powerful dark fantasy story set in Ancient Japan about love and demons.

I nominated this story for a Hugo earlier this year, and it was written masterfully in the second person.

If you haven’ read Isabel Yap yet, I see no problems in starting here.

Read My Review

.

.

2. In Libres (Uncanny Magazine #4: May/June 2015) by Elizabeth Bear

25512238

My Rating: 5/5

Why You Should It: If you ever had to write any type of research or thesis paper in under/post-graduate, you will LOVE this story.

Bear takes a simple task of trying to check her book out of the library for a paper she is writing and puts truly fantastical, hilarious, and imaginative twist on it.

Read My Review

.

.

1. A Year and a Day In Old Theradane (Uncanny Magazine #5: July/August 2015) by Scott Lynch

25867225

My Rating: 5/5

Why You Should It:  This was first thing I had EVER read by Scott Lynch before and you know what my reaction was?

HOW HAVE I NEVER READ SCOTT LYNCH BEFORE!?!?!?!?!?

Lynch’s prose, world-building, characters, and imagination are second to none.

Read My Review

.

.

-DJ

Tagged , ,

12 thoughts on “Tops 10 Reads of 2015! Short Fiction

  1. Forrice says:

    That is a good list of books “Eat fish and die” is the one I like to get my ears on. (Because you recommend audio.) 🙂

    Like

  2. Tammy says:

    I don’t get around to reading much short fiction, but this top ten list definately makes me want to track down some of these and check them out. Thanks for the great suggestions!

    Like

  3. Bob Milne says:

    Joe Lansdale and Kage Baker? How the heck has The Time Traveler’s Almanac completely slipped by me?

    Like

    • You have to take a look at the table of content for this anthology. I’d be hard pressed to find a better all-star, hall-of-fame author line up out there. It’s CRAZY good; introduced me to many authors I’d only heard of but hadn’t had the opportunity to read yet.

      Like

  4. when it comes to talking about favorite stories, it is always better late than never. I especially feel that way about short stories because comparatively few people enjoy reading them and that makes me sad.

    Like

    • You know, I follow a fairly decent number of blogs, and even though my blog time has cut down considerably due to school, even when it wasn’tI still, if almost never, saw any type of reviews of mentions of short fiction.

      I don’t know if it because there are too many short stories out there, people don’t know where to find them, or because people prefer the longer format, but you don’t hear much.

      I make this list becauseI wanted people to know what my favorite were for all type of reading I did in the year, but think of it now, these “end of the year best of” lists, are probably the best publicity for short stories because reviews of them are so rare.

      Like

  5. Really need to check out During the Dance by Mark Lawrence – it seems very different from his usual work. And I’ve heard such amazing things! Can’t help but be curious, after all it’s only 9 pages 😀

    Like

  6. I’ve bookmarked a ton of these! Thank you so much for the recs. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

