Book Collecting: Update #25

When I came home from school this winter, there were few books waiting to greet me! 😀

All of the books you are about to see have been sent to me by the publisher.

Regrettably, I most likely will not have time to get to all of these novels during my break (I am already working on a trilogy for this break), but I who know! Maybe I’ll finish early and get to try one of these out before classe start again 🙂

So, even if I don’t get to a chance to read these, I have included links to the Goodreads and Amazon pages for you to learn more about these novels – that I wish(!) I could read!


Markswoman by Ren Warom

(Amazon | Goodreads)

Kyra is the youngest Markswoman in the Order of Kali, a highly trained sisterhood of elite warriors armed with telepathic blades. Guided by a strict code of conduct, Kyra and the other Orders are sworn to protect the people of Asiana. But to be a Markswoman, an acolyte must repudiate her former life completely. Kyra has pledged to do so, yet she secretly harbors a fierce desire to avenge her dead family.

When Kyra’s beloved mentor dies in mysterious circumstances, and Tamsyn, the powerful, dangerous Mistress of Mental Arts, assumes control of the Order, Kyra is forced on the run. Using one of the strange Transport Hubs that are remnants of Asiana’s long-lost past, she finds herself in the unforgiving wilderness of desert that is home to the Order of Khur, the only Order composed of men. Among them is Rustan, a young, disillusioned Marksman whom she soon befriends.

Kyra is certain that Tamsyn committed murder in a twisted bid for power, but she has no proof. And if she fails to find it, fails in her quest to keep her beloved Order from following Tamsyn down a dark path, it could spell the beginning of the end for Kyra–and for Asiana.

But what she doesn’t realize is that the line between justice and vengeance is razor thin . . . thin as the blade of a knife.

You know me, folks, this one just seems like my type of fantasy 🙂

Thanks, Harper Voyager, for the review copy 🙂


The Library at the Edge of the World by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

(Amazon | Goodreads)

A warm, feel-good novel about the importance of finding a place where you belong – perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

Local librarian Hanna Casey is wondering where it all went wrong … Driving her mobile library van through Finfarran’s farms and villages, she tries not to think of the sophisticated London life she abandoned when she left her cheating husband. Or that she’s now stuck in her crotchety mum’s spare bedroom.

With her daughter Jazz travelling the world and her relationship with her mother growing increasingly fraught, Hanna decides to reclaim her independence. Then, when the threatened closure of her library puts her plans in jeopardy, she finds herself leading a battle to restore the heart and soul of the fragmented community. Will she also find the new life she’s been searching for?

Not exactly my cup of tea… but I do appreciate the book! And, my mother did see and ask if she could read it – so, I think thing worked out 🙂

Thanks, Harper Perinneal, for the review copy 🙂


Doctor Who: The Book of Whoniversal Records by Simon Guerriero

(Amazon | Goodreads)

A fact-packed, full-color illustrated collection of records that celebrates the best, biggest and most memorable moments from the world of Doctor Who.

Doctor Who: The Book of Whoniversal Records is a handy compilation of the greatest—and strangest—details from the brilliant, imaginative world of Doctor Who. Bursting with firsts and bests both human and alien, this expansive compendium has the answer to any and every question about the Doctor, his companions and adversaries, and his adventures through time and space.

Discover a multi-universe of astounding facts, figures, and fun—from the biggest explosion in the universe to the first human to time-travel; from the longest fall through space to the shortest life-form that ever lived—inside this ultimate must-have reference. Filled with full-color images throughout, Doctor Who: The Book of Whoniversal Records is a must for every Doctor Who devotee everywhere . . . and everywhen.

A Whovian twist on bestselling gift reference books such as The Guinness Book of World Records, Ripley’s Believe It Or Not, and Star Wars: Absolutely Everything You Need to Know, this informative and entertaining digest features a cool graphic cover with special effects that reflects the Doctor Who aesthetic.

Despite the huge SF/F fan I am, I have actually never watched Dr. Who…!

Thanks, Harper Design, for the review copy 🙂


 

The Faerie Handbook by Carolyn Turgeon

(Amazon | Goodreads)

In this exquisite anthology, Editor in Chief Carolyn Turgeon and the editors of Faerie Magazine welcome you into an enchanted realm rich with myth, mystery, romance, and abundant natural beauty. Organized into four sections—Flora and Fauna, Fashion and Beauty,  Arts and Culture, and Home, Food, and Entertaining—this gorgeous volume offers an array of exquisite vintage4 and contemporary fine art and photography, literature, essays, do-it-yourself projects, and recipes that provide hours of reading, viewing, and dreaming pleasure, along with a multitude of ideas for modern-day living and entertaining with a distinctive fairy touch.

Yes, this book came packed in that wrapping and I was too afraid to open it until I read it! However, I did happen to go to some sort of faerie(?) store this winter when I was exploring Portland with my girlfriend, and the store actually have several copies this novel on display when you walk in! I wish I had thought to take some photos at the time, because the artwork on the was fantastic!

Thanks, Harper Design, for the review copy 🙂


 

Middle Earth: From Script to Screen by Daniel Falconer

(Amazon | Goodreads)

For the first time ever, the epic, in-depth story of the creation of one of the most famous fantasy worlds ever imagined—an illustrious compendium that reveals the breathtaking craftsmanship, artistry, and technology behind the magical Middle-earth of the blockbuster film franchises, The Lord of the Rings Motion Picture Trilogy and The Hobbit Trilogy, directed by Peter Jackson.

The Making of Middle-Earth tells the complete story of how J. R. R. Tolkien’s magic world was brought to vivid life on the big screen in the record-breaking film trilogies The Lord of the Rings Motion Picture Trilogy and The Hobbit Motion Picture Trilogy. Drawing on resources, stories, and content from the archives of the companies and individuals behind the films, much of which have never appeared in print before, as well as interviews with director Peter Jackson and key members of the Art Department, Shooting Crews, Park Road Post, and Weta Digital teams who share their personal insights on the creative process, this astonishing resource reveals:

How the worlds were built, brick by brick and pixel by pixel; How environments were extended digitally or imagined entirely as computer generated spaces; How the multiple shooting units functioned; How cast members and characters interacted with their environments.

Daniel Falconer takes fans from storyboard concepts to deep into the post-production process where the films were edited, graded, and scored, explaining in depth how each enhanced the films. He also discusses how the processes involved in establishing Middle-earth for the screen have evolved over the fifteen years between the start and finish of the trilogies. Going region by region and culture by culture in this fantasy realm, The Making of Middle-Earth describes how each area created for the films was defined, what made it unique, and what role it played in the stories.

Illustrated with final film imagery, behind-the-scenes pictures and conceptual artwork, including places not seen in the final films, this monumental compilation offers unique and far-reaching insights into the creation of the world we know and love as Middle-earth.

Yeah… my draw jopped when I saw it came in the mail! And with this one, I DID remember to take photos 🙂

Thanks, Harper Design, for the review copy 🙂


Read any of these books yet? Which would you read first? What is on your TBR to start the year off?

Let me know what’s good!

-DJ

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Book Collecting: Update #25

  1. Wow, that Middle Earth book is AMAZING!! I did read Markswoman, and its a fun book! Hope you get a chance to read some of these eventually!

    Like

    • I was very happy and extremely confused when I saw the Middle Earth book. I was like, what on Earth did I do to get that book?! I would have brought it back down with me to school, but didn’t want to take a chance of it getting ruined in the travel. So next time I’m home, I think I’m going to actually sit down and read that, for sure!

      Like

  2. I’m looking forward to reading Markswoman!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: