Author Interview: Kim Wilkins

F51545AB-47A6-457C-BE1C-06DB5D3CAD23

Today I am interviewing Kim Wilkins, author of the new fantasy novel, Daughters of the Storm, first book in the Blood and Gold trilogy.

◊  ◊  ◊

DJ: Hi Kim! Thanks for agreeing to do this interview!

For readers who aren’t familiar with you, could you tell us a little about yourself?

Kim Wilkins: I’m a writer and an academic. My first book was published 20 years ago, but I’ve written across a range of genres and also under a pseudonym. I have thirty books under my belt now. Fantasy has always been my first love, so it’s exciting and wonderful for me to be back here. As an academic, I teach writing and publishing studies, and run a research grant on popular fiction.

DJ: What is Daughters of the Storm about?

DCFC3224-AEC4-4EF6-86A5-CBABB79BDBF1

Kim: It’s about the five daughters of a king in a vaguely Anglo-Saxon fantasy world. The king gets sick from bad magic, and they have to go on a quest to find the cure. Only trouble is, being five very different women, shenanigans ensue.

DJ: What were some of your influences Daughters of the Storm and the series?

Kim: Tolkien, of course. I studied medieval literature and was particularly taken with Anglo-Saxon literature. I can read Old English and in fact I convened a reading group that read the entirety of Beowulf in the original language. One of the defining intellectual achievements of my life.

DJ: Could you briefly tell us a little about your main characters? Do they have any cool quirks or habits, or any reason why readers with sympathize with them? 

Kim: Bluebell is a great character to write. I wish she was my big sister (although I suspect my feeling wouldn’t be shared with her actual sisters in the book). She is in some ways the stereotypical warrior chick; but I wanted to mess with that a bit so she’s tall and gangly and ugly, and she is fiercely fiercely loyal to her family and her duty. Like,to a fault. So she can kick the butts, but sometimes she kicks the wrong butts or doesn’t kick them hard enough. Oh, and she always thinks she’s right, which is super-annoying for everyone else.DJ: What was your favorite part about writing Daughters of the Storm?

Kim: Disappearing into my imagination into an alternate version of 8th century England, which is a place I would have liked to see with my own eyes. But with the addition of magic and women who have agency.

DJ: What do you think readers will be talking about most once they finish it?

Kim: I can already see they spend a lot of time talking about the sisters. How different they are, what their loyalties are, and how that in-fighting and love between sisters affects everything that happens.

DJ: Did you have a particular goal when you began the Blood and Gold trilogy? A Daughters of the Storm is only the first book, but is there a particular message or meaning you are hoping to get across when readers finish it? Or is there perhaps a certain theme to the story?

Kim: I just want to write about interesting women. I’m surrounded by them in real life, so I wanted to put some of that on the page, but in a medievalist fantasy setting.

DJ: When I read, I love to collect quotes – whether it be because they’re funny, foodie, or have a personal meaning to me. Do you have any favorite quotes from A Daughters of the Storm that you can share with us?

Kim: Bluebell’s ethos is very much influenced by the old Heathen philosophy that “we are our deeds”. So she says this to Ash at one point in the series, when they are facing what could possibly be their deaths: ““You are not your fate. You are you deeds. Your Becoming is only the warp on the loom, the threads that are already in place that you cannot change. Your deeds are the weft. You choose the thread, the shuttle. You make the pattern….What happens next is not to be known, but if we die, we die having chosen our deeds, and that is right and good.”

Incidentally, this is my philosophy in life too.

DJ: Now that Daughters of the Storm is released, what is next for you?

Kim:  I’m finishing up the third book in the series, Queens of the Sea. The second, Sisters of the Fire, should be out in the US early next year.

DJ: Where can readers find out more about you?  

Amazon Author Page:https://www.amazon.com/Kim-Wilkins/e/B001HMP8I4

Blog:www.kimwilkins.com

Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/KimWilkins2014/

Mostly on Instagram@hexebart

DJ: Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to answer my questions!

◊  ◊  ◊

*** Daughters of the Storm is published by Del Rey Books and is available TODAY!!! ***

Buy the Book: 

Amazon | Barnes & NobelGoodreads | Kobo

◊  ◊  ◊


DCFC3224-AEC4-4EF6-86A5-CBABB79BDBF1About the Book:

Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

FIVE ROYAL SISTERS. ONE CROWN.

They are the daughters of a king. Though they share the same royal blood, they could not be more different. Bluebell is a proud warrior, stronger than any man and with an ironclad heart to match. Rose’s heart is all too passionate: She is the queen of a neighboring kingdom, who is risking everything for a forbidden love. The twins: vain Ivy, who lives for admiration, and zealous Willow, who lives for the gods. And Ash, who is discovering a dangerous talent for magic that might be a gift–or a curse.

But when their father is stricken by a mysterious ailment, they must come together on a desperate journey to save him and prevent their treacherous stepbrother from seizing the throne. Their mission: find the powerful witch who can cure the king. But to succeed on their quest, they must overcome their differences, and hope that the secrets they hide from one another and the world are never brought to light. Because if this royal family breaks, it could destroy the kingdom.


F51545AB-47A6-457C-BE1C-06DB5D3CAD23

About the Author:

Kim Wilkins was born in London, and grew up at the seaside north of Brisbane, Australia. She is an Associate Professor of writing and book culture at University of Queensland. She writes a lot, usually by ignoring unimportant things like cooking and washing her children’s clothes. She has enduring obsessions with Viking-age England, misty landscapes, pagan mythology, Led Zeppelin, and really really small dogs.


Advertisements
Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: