(Guest Post) Book Review: The Fate of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling #3) by Erika Johansen

15175602_10100619275354467_316036013_n

Jade Sisti or aloneintown is an artist and author. Here is a link to her Facebook page, .

Her first novel, Stagnant Souls, was just published on Amazon kindle.

.

.

.

.


The Fate of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling #3) by Erica Johansen

Publisher: Harper

Publication Date: November 29, 2016

Edition: Paperback, 496 pages

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 4.5/5


It was everything I was hoping for in a conclusion and then some.

Backcover:

The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Tearling trilogy.

In less than a year, Kelsea Glynn has transformed from a gawky teenager into a powerful monarch. As she has come into her own as the Queen of the Tearling, the headstrong, visionary leader has also transformed her realm. In her quest to end corruption and restore justice, she has made many enemies—including the evil Red Queen, her fiercest rival, who has set her armies against the Tear.

To protect her people from a devastating invasion, Kelsea did the unthinkable—she gave herself and her magical sapphires to her enemy—and named the Mace, the trusted head of her personal guards, Regent in her place. But the Mace will not rest until he and his men rescue their sovereign, imprisoned in Mortmesne.

Now, as the suspenseful endgame begins, the fate of Queen Kelsea—and the Tearling itself—will finally be revealed.

*Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this story from the author in exchange for my honest opinion and review.

So writing reviews isn’t something I normally participate in, but I was given the chance to read the Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen in advance. So in return, I’ve agreed to write a review. This is the third in a trilogy, the first being fabulous, the second lost and the third redeeming its self. Without getting too detailed, let me properly explain the series as a whole and please remember it’s only just my opinion. The first, called the Queen of the Tearling was well rounded, informative and told a great story, leaving it open for loads of possibilities in a sequel. The second, however, was lost on me. Everything from its direction to its plot. Again, this is just an opinion from a humble artist. I struggled with getting through that book (The Invasion of the Tearling) and wasn’t sure if I would even pick up the third, but I’m glad I did. In fact, I’m immensely glad I did. It was everything I was hoping for in a conclusion and then some. The characters from the last book suddenly made grounded sense, with the help of an added bonus of new (but actually old I guess) characters. The past timeline will make absolute sense… eventually. I actually preferred the past characters more so then the present.

Queen Kelsey’s never ending mood swing finally comes crashing down and she is awesome again. The Fetch’s past, as well as the dark thing’s are thoroughly explained/explored and pretty early on too. I’m going to be perfectly honest, I was secretly rooting for the dark thing. I saw him as that (somewhat) wrongfully cheated, pissed off hottie. That anti hero every preteen swoons over. He’s a brat of course, in fact most of these characters are. Kelsey too had her moments, but she took such giant strides since her last book, that suddenly she becomes the mature adult in the series. Thinking of mature adults, oh Mace. What to do with you? And Pen, yeah, Pen. I can’t even with that character. Give him a bucket so he can collect his tears.

I was also pretty excited to see the variety of side quests shake up the story and I’m not just talking about the past. The Priest, Hellcat and of course the Red Queen. Their stories now suddenly make sense to the greater plot and it was fun to watch them unfold. The plot twist, though not uncommon, was still surprising and wasn’t where I would have expected it to be. It was a wonderful story… until the end. I can’t help but wonder what was the point? Now don’t get me wrong, there was a proper conclusion. Also, maybe it’s just my love for horror movies, or just some bizarre fact that I can remember this, but at one point she totally gave away her conclusion. When this, let’s say, topic was brought up, I even thought half jokingly that it would happen, but was like no way. I’m obviously not going to give that movie clue away, but who knows, maybe you might also pick up on it too.

Overall I’d give this four and a half stars if I could. This has a lot to do with the second book being so challenging to get through, that I was just so excited to see how much this third book redeemed itself. Everything was more or less explained, except magic. I’m still lost on that. It’s explained, but I felt it was much too vague. I hope this was helpful to you all and seriously, you should give it a read. It was pretty awesome.

4.5/5 Rating

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

