Book Collecting: Update #7

IMG_0842

I finally had a little free time this weekend, so I thought I would take advantage of this and make a trip my awesome bookstore – the one that is still 2 for $5!!! (You guys seriously need to see the size of this place. I might take a photo next time). Unlike when I usually go in here, this time I was on the lookout for three particular books.

  1. Gardens of the Moon; After reading RomeoRite’s review of Deadhouse Gates, it might of slightly peaked my interest in the series, and I wanted to grab the first book in case I ever had the sudden urge to jump in.
  2. I wanted to see if they had a Terry Pratchett novel, because sadly I’ve never read any of his work.
  3. I was looking for a book about mythology from the British Isles.

While I couldn’t find a Erikson or Pratchett novel, I did find my mythology book and grabbed a few other good ones!


IMG_0835

  • The Mabinogion Tetralogy (Mabinogion Tetralogy #1-4) by Evangeline Walton

I remembered this book being at the store extremely well. Every time I go here, I always end up with it in my hand at the end deciding wether or not to buy it, but – obviously – I would always put it down to grab another book that I knew more about. Once I read about it in Tor.com’s article on British Isle’s mythology, I decided that next time I would get it! This time it was first book I grabbed, and didn’t put it back 😀


IMG_0837

  • The Grim Company (The Grim Company #1) by Luke Scull

I generally don’t like to start reading series that aren’t already finished or if I don’t know when the final book is gong to be published. I don’t plan on starting this anytime soon, but I’ve read a number of great reviews on the two book in the Grim Company series, and I mean, brand new hardcover for only $2.50? How can I not pick this up.


IMG_0834

  • Ecko Rising by Danie Ware

This book has had my interest for a while now, but I have never been necessarily too eager to go out and buy it. I knew Ecko Endgame is supposed to be coming out later this year (not sure if final book in the series – I’ll take a gamble though), so when I saw a new paperback of it – it was an insta-buy for me. Plus, the back of book says, “The Matrix meets Game of Thrones…”. Seems like everything is compares to GoT nowadays. Don’t necessarily believe that will be true, but thought it was clever marketing.


IMG_0836

  • Thereby Hangs A Tail (Chet and Bernie #2) by Spencer Quinn

Although this is last on the list here, it was actually the second book I grabbed. I read first book of this series last year and though it was absolutely hilarious! I loved it! Somehow though, I own books 1 and 4… and this bookstore always has a couple copies of books 1,3,4,5,6, and 7…. but never – and I mean they NEVER EVER – have book 2!  When I saw they had it in stock, I damn near screamed XD It’s not in best condition, but I don’t care at this point.

I should be finishing up Murder As A Fine Art by David Morrell tomorrow, and then I’m going to start the First Law Trilogy (which I am so excited about!). I intend to throw this one in after The Blade Itself or Before They Are Hanged. From what I’ve heard, I may need a little light humor after Abercrombie.


Have you picked up any new books this month? Read any of the ones I just grabbed or hear anything (good) about them?

Let me know what’s good!

-DJ

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Book Collecting: Update #7

  1. That is one sweet deal on The Grim Company! I loved that book. Worth the $2.50 for sure, and you’ll be just in time for book two as well 😀

    Like

    • I just read a review for Sword Of The North this morning! I want to see what other people have to say about it as more reviews come out, and if it’s a good as Grim Company, then I’ll probably start them.
      And the selection of books at the store is amazing! I only bring $10 (4 books worth) otherwise I’d probably with a cart full overtime.

      Like

  2. That place sounds amazing! I’ve been wanting to read The Grim Company, look forward to seeing what you think of it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

