The Friday Face-Off: Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a new weekly meme hosted by Books by Proxy. Join us every Friday as we pit cover against cover, and publisher against publisher, to find the best artwork in our literary universe.


The Friday Face-Off: Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

Fool by Christopher Moore

81435986776969

asdf

asdf

a

asdfsdfasdf
VS.

asdf

asdf

7253245asdf


HarperCollins William Morrow Paperbacks – February 2010

6776969

Cover art by Will Staehle

◊  ◊  ◊

HarperCollins William Morrow Hardcover – February 2009

8143598

Cover art by Will Staehle

◊  ◊  ◊

HarperCollins William Morrow Paperback – February 2009

7253245

Cover art by Will Staehle


The Friday Face-Off Winner is…

6776969

HarperCollins William Morrow Paperbacks – February 2010; Cover art by Will Staehle

As you can see: each cover each cover is almost identical! Same publisher; same country (US); same artist. The only difference is the coloring: the two black covers were the hardcover and paperback original releases, and then the red was another hardcover the following year. Really, it come down to what color scheme you prefer.

I do NOT prefer the green fool. It’s kind of cool how the diamond background overlaps the stick fool in the fool’s hand – but I don’t like the shad of green used for the fool’s clothes… makes me think of vomit 😦

Thus, it comes to red or black! The black on black is nice – but having the red background make the contrast of the white title and black author’s name pop so much more! Grabs my attention immediately.

Normally I do the US vs UK, but I thought this was a rare opportunity I came across. For those of you who are curious though, here is what a UK cover looks like from Sphere:

19422678

Which cover do you think is the best?

-DJ

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Friday Face-Off: Better a Witty Fool than a Foolish Wit

  1. Ha, this was one of mine. But I paired it up against a different book 🙂 I like the black background the best.

    Like

  2. Zezee says:

    I feel so silly now. I have this book. I have the one with the red cover, which is the one I like best. It wasn’t until I saw the cover that I remembered.

    Like

  3. sjhigbee says:

    I think I prefer the hat! But my next favourite is your choice – you’re right, the fool on the black cover looks distinctly bilious…

    Like

  4. Never read Christopher Moore, but I’ve always wanted to try his work, and I admit the really cool covers to his books have a lot to do with that. Really hard to choose this week, especially when it’s between the three colors!

    Like

  5. @lynnsbooks says:

    I also chose Moore but went for the Serpent of Venice – which also shows a Fool on the cover. It seems we all had similar thoughts this week. I do like the red cover.
    lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a comment