Monthly Re(ad)cap, Review, and TBR: February 2016

Book Reviews

865293-2 26715438 23168763 18490647


 TheBastard Read-Along!!!

Screen Shot 2015-11-14 at 8.07.17 PM

Kaja from OfDragonsAndHearts and myself at hosting a read along of The Gentlemen Bastards series by Scott Lynch.

The Bastard Read-Along Review Schedule:

This reading schedule is also perfect timing too, because The Thorn of Emberlain is scheduled for release next July.

Fellow Bastards Reading-Along:

We are not being selfish though, and would love for you to join us and read along! 🙂 If you are interested please comment down below, we will add your name to the list of readers. Or, if you decide to join in later, link up your review in the comments on either my or Kaja’s review, and we will add you name to the list and so we can all share! Also, you don’t have write a review to participate. Fell free to just read the the books, and then comeback and read everyone’s review and join in on the discussions 🙂

You read the full introduction post here


 The Time Traveler’s Almanac Read Along

17910155Myself and a group of fellow time-travel enthusiasts are committed to reading and reviewing every single story in The Time Traveler’s Almanac. 

We are doing by reading one story per week and posting out review every Thursday.

To see a full list of The Time Traveler’s Almanac reviews and reading schedule, visit The Time Traveler’s Almanac Page

Follow along on Twitter with #TimeTravelThursday

Feel free to join in any join time! Just leave a comment down below 🙂

asdf


Interviews, Guest Posts, and Spotlight

A1qu0iYtYBL._UX250_ 28628951

Guest Post: Quantum Mechanics in Science Fiction: Why am I so Mad? by S.K. Slate, author of the novel, Thurm

Frank portrait Set in Stone Cover small high res

Guest Post: It’s Magic! by Frank Morin, author of the YA fantasy novel, Set in Stone

rschiverauthorphoto 27812211

Spotlight & Except: All Roads Lead to Terror by Richard Schaver

B1bTg1qSjWS._UX250_ 28429098

Interview: Bernadette Allen, author of the new dystopian, science fiction novel, Sovereign Social Protocol

20160219_183512 25734811

Interview: Justyna Plichta-Jendzio, author or the high/dark fantasy anthology, Damned Children of Naor

Cherry w-cat photo Yorath the Wolf cover final

Spotlight: Cherry Wilder, author of the novel, Yorath the Wolf


Book Collecting

IMG_1401

IMG_1435


Best of Lists


What I Read

26715438 26839234-3 22884184-2

This month I read 3 books (1 novel, 1 graphic novel, 1 comic)

*** I have now read 4 of my 20 book goal for the year. 1 book ahead of schedule!


Next Escapes?

I have an eARC for Snakewood by Adrain Shelly, which I received on Net Galley. I also have a little less than a hundred pages left in Read Seas Under Reas Skies, but since Kaja and myself are postponing out review date for that, I decided to put that book on hiatus until we decide a date, and read and review some new releases until then.

I am planning on going to an author event in March for the release of Brian Staveley’s (Max Gladstone will be there too) new book, The Last Mortal Bond!!!!!! So that means, I will be reading, finally, The Providence of Fire. Before that one though, I will be reading Arena by Holly Jennins, another title from Net Galley. Then, later this month, I should be receiving a review copy of Dragon Hunters  by Marc Tuners, in the mail.

Also, I have two more graphic novels from 01 Publishing to check out: Crazy Mary and Utopiates

What do you plan on reading?


Check me out on:

Goodreads or Twitter 

And The Time Traveler’s Almanac Group Read Page

And The Bastard Read-Along Page

Thank you to everyone who has taken time to read, like, comment, subscribe, share, or even just look at anything on my blog! 😀

-DJ

6 thoughts on “Monthly Re(ad)cap, Review, and TBR: February 2016

  1. Excellent month! And have fun at the author event! No one ever comes to my part of the country 🙂

    Like

  2. Looking forward to hearing what you think of Snakewood! I just finished it yesterday. Even though the first 100 pages were rough going, I ended up enjoying it quite a bit.

    Like

    • I REALLY hope that is the case for me too. Rough is almost an understand. I am that close to DNFing at 21% – which I guess is just under 100 pages?

      Story and plot are good, but the prose and style are just a nightmare to read at times.

      Like

  3. Wow, you really packed a lot of reading into a short month!

    I’m definitely going to join in on your GB read-along with Kaja – she’s actually the one who convinced me to read The Lies of Locke Lamora in the first place! I’ve not read any of the other books in the series, so this is a good chance for me to carry on with it and chat about what those guys get up to. I’m sure their adventures in the second book will be just as jaw-dropping! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is awesome to hear!!! Make sure you tweet us your review when you post it! Actually, when Kaja and I figure out when we will posting our Red Seas reviews, I’ll make sure one of us lets you know, so maybe you can post it on the same day as us 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment